UserGuiding Pricing: UserGuiding Price Per MAU, Plan Limits, and UserGuiding vs Userpilot and Appcues on Cost
UserGuiding still prints a real price, and it is the lowest in the category. Here is what Starter and Growth cost, why both stop at 2,000 MAU, what the limits really are, and what happens when you go over.
By the UserInsight team
September 2026 · 8 min read
Product type
Ready to analyze
has signals waiting across usage, tickets and reviews. Surface the insights to see why users churn and what to build next.
Surfacing insights
AnalyzingHeadline insight
← friction step · biggest drop-off
Live and interactive, nothing is uploaded
Every insight traced to its source signals · aggregate & consented · no PII exposure
UserGuiding Starter costs $174 a month billed yearly, which is $2,088 a year, or $249 a month on monthly billing. Growth costs $349 a month billed yearly, $4,188 a year, or $499 a month billed monthly. Both prices cover up to 2,000 monthly active users, and above that UserGuiding quotes you after a demo. Enterprise is custom. Per monthly active user, Starter on annual billing works out to about $1.04 a year, the lowest published rate among the onboarding tools we have read this month. Read first-party from a US connection on 22 September 2026.
How much does UserGuiding cost?
UserGuiding is one of the few product adoption tools that still prints a real price on its pricing page, and the numbers are low for the category. There are three paid plans on the main cards and a fourth, free plan tucked into the comparison table.
| Plan | Billed yearly | Billed monthly | MAU at that price | MAU range | Seats |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Support Essentials | $0 | $0 | Not stated | Not stated | 1 |
| Starter | $174 a month ($2,088 a year) | $249 a month ($2,988 a year) | Up to 2,000 | 0 to 10,000 | 3 |
| Growth | $349 a month ($4,188 a year) | $499 a month ($5,988 a year) | Up to 2,000 | 0 to 100,000 | 10 |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Custom | Custom | Unlimited |
The monthly figures are not printed as prices. The page prints the yearly rate and a savings badge, $900 on Starter and $1,800 on Growth, and the monthly price is what you get when you add the badge back. The toggle says annual billing saves 30%, and for once the vendor's own math holds: $900 is 30.1% of $2,988 and $1,800 is 30.1% of $5,988.
If you want to see these numbers against the other adoption tools on your shortlist, our Userpilot vs Pendo vs Appcues pricing comparison puts all of them on a cost per MAU basis.
Is the UserGuiding price really for 2,000 users on both plans?
Yes, and this is the detail that changes the budget. Under both the Starter and the Growth card the page says the same thing: this price covers up to 2,000 MAU, and above that, book a demo for a custom quote. The comparison table repeats it, listing monthly active users included as starting from 2,000 on Starter and starting from 2,000 on Growth.
So the jump from $174 to $349 a month buys features, not users. It doubles the price and keeps the same allowance. The MAU range row is what differs: Starter can be stretched to 10,000 monthly active users and Growth to 100,000, but only through a sales conversation, and the page does not say what those rungs cost.
Userpilot does the same thing. Its $299 Starter and its $849 Growth plan both include 2,000 MAU at base, as we set out in our Userpilot pricing breakdown. Two of the main vendors in this category now publish a price that only describes a 2,000 user product. If your product has 6,000 active users a month, neither self-serve price applies to you.
What does UserGuiding cost per monthly active user?
At the 2,000 MAU the published prices cover, the per-user figures come out like this:
- UserGuiding Starter, annual: $2,088 a year for 2,000 MAU, about $1.04 per MAU per year.
- UserGuiding Starter, monthly: $2,988 a year, about $1.49 per MAU per year.
- UserGuiding Growth, annual: $4,188 a year, about $2.09 per MAU per year.
- Userpilot Starter: $299 a month, $3,588 a year for 2,000 MAU, about $1.79 per MAU per year, with no annual discount published.
- Appcues Spark: $3,600 a year for 1,000 MAU, about $3.60 per MAU per year, plus a $250 one-time setup fee, as covered in our Appcues pricing guide.
At entry level UserGuiding Starter on annual billing is $1,500 a year cheaper than Userpilot Starter for the same 2,000 users, and it costs less than two thirds of the Appcues Spark price for twice the users. That is the honest case for UserGuiding: it is the budget option in this category, and the published numbers back that up.
We could not find procurement data for UserGuiding. The contract databases we use for Pendo, Userpilot and Appcues do not publish a median for it, so there is no third-party figure for what larger customers sign. Treat anything above 2,000 MAU as unknown until you have a quote in writing.
What do you give up on the Starter plan?
The price is low partly because the Starter limits are tight. Read from the comparison table on 22 September 2026:
| Limit | Starter | Growth | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Active guides | 15 | 40 | Unlimited |
| Active hotspots | 10 | 40 | Unlimited |
| Active checklists | 1 | 5 | Unlimited |
| Active surveys | 1 | 5 | Unlimited |
| Resource centers | 1 | 5 | Unlimited |
| Audience segments | Up to 10 | Up to 25 | Unlimited |
| Environments | 2 | 5 | Unlimited |
| Session replay | No | 3,000 recordings | Custom |
| Localization | No | 1 plus 3 languages | Unlimited |
One checklist and one survey is the constraint most teams hit first. If you want a separate onboarding checklist for admins and end users, or an NPS survey running alongside a feature survey, Starter will not do it. No-code event tracking, feature requests and a public roadmap, custom alerts, A/B testing, custom CSS and team member roles all start at Growth.
The limits on the pages ranking for this query are out of date. Several still describe Starter as 25 active guides, 20 hotspots, 2 checklists and 5 surveys. The live table says 15, 10, 1 and 1. If you sized your rollout on one of those articles, recount.
Extra quotas can be bought. The FAQ says you can purchase additional material quotas, extra seats, extra containers and white-label branding from the add-on settings inside the product, but it does not print those prices.
What is the free UserGuiding plan?
The comparison table carries a fourth column, Support Essentials, that is collapsed by default and marked as a free way to get started. It is aimed at self-service support rather than onboarding: one seat, one environment, one resource center, one banner and 50 AI assistant resolutions. It has no product tours, hotspots or checklists. If what you need is guided onboarding, it is not a free version of Starter.
For evaluating the full product there is a 14-day trial with no credit card, which the FAQ says UserGuiding will extend if two weeks is not enough. The page also advertises a 30-day money-back guarantee.
What happens if you exceed your UserGuiding MAU quota?
Your guides stop showing. The FAQ says that when you go over your MAU quota, your users stop seeing your guides and other UserGuiding materials on your website until you raise the quota or your MAU falls back under it. There is no overage charge.
That is a hard stop, and it is the opposite of Appcues, which says it keeps your experiences running and moves you to the next tier at your next billing cycle. A spike in active users from a launch or a seasonal peak could switch your onboarding off for exactly the new users it was built for. If your MAU is close to 2,000, budget the next rung before you need it.
How does UserGuiding count a monthly active user?
The pricing page gives three different wordings. The slider says MAU is the total number of users who have signed into your platform in the last 30 days. The plan cards say it is the number of people who used your product at least once in the last 30 days. The FAQ says it is the number of unique user IDs that have logged in over the previous 30 days, and that dormant users in your database are not charged.
Signed in and used at least once are not the same event. A user with a persistent session who opens the app daily without a fresh login counts under one definition and arguably not the other. Ask your rep which one the contract uses, and pull your own 30-day count both ways before you pick a tier.
What else to check before you buy UserGuiding
- No native mobile apps. The FAQ says native mobile apps are not supported. Content displays in modern browsers, and screens narrower than 800 pixels need a conversation with the team.
- EU hosting has a catch. An EU server in Frankfurt is free on Growth and Enterprise and an add-on on Starter, but the FAQ warns that switching regions causes data loss. Decide on day one.
- Switching credit. If you are still under contract with another tool, UserGuiding says it is free until that contract ends, so you do not pay twice during a migration.
- Employee onboarding is a separate module. The table lists a module for employee onboarding. If the real job is training and certifying your own staff rather than guiding customers, a corporate training platform is usually the better purchase than an in-app guide tool.
- SSO is Enterprise only. SAML SSO and team member activity logs sit on the Enterprise plan, which matters if your security team requires SSO on every vendor.
Is UserGuiding worth it?
For a product under 2,000 monthly active users that needs a handful of tours and tooltips, yes. It is the cheapest published entry point in the category, the discount for paying yearly is real, and the trial is generous. If you need several checklists, more than one survey, session replay or localization, you are on Growth at $4,188 a year, about $600 more than Userpilot Starter and far below Userpilot Growth at $849 a month.
It is a weaker fit if you are above 2,000 MAU, because the published price stops applying and there is no public data on what the next rungs cost. It is also the wrong tool if you ship native mobile apps. For a wider view of where UserGuiding sits, see our Appcues alternatives and the overview of product adoption software.
One thing no onboarding tool will tell you is why users drop off in the first place. UserGuiding shows you who finished a tour. The reasons people churn after it are sitting in support tickets, reviews and survey comments. UserInsight pulls those together with your usage data and surfaces the themes behind drop-off with the evidence attached, so the next tour you build fixes a problem users actually reported.
UserGuiding pricing FAQ
How much is UserGuiding per month?
UserGuiding Starter is $174 a month billed yearly or $249 a month billed monthly. Growth is $349 a month billed yearly or $499 a month billed monthly. Both prices cover up to 2,000 monthly active users. Enterprise is priced on request, and there is a free Support Essentials plan with one seat.
Does UserGuiding have a free plan?
Yes, but it is not a free onboarding plan. Support Essentials is free with one seat, one resource center, one banner and 50 AI assistant resolutions, and it has no product tours or checklists. To try the onboarding features there is a 14-day trial with no credit card required.
Is UserGuiding cheaper than Userpilot?
Yes, at entry level. UserGuiding Starter on annual billing is $2,088 a year for 2,000 MAU, while Userpilot Starter is $299 a month, $3,588 a year, for the same 2,000 MAU with no published annual discount. Userpilot includes more analytics on its entry plan, so compare features before price.
Is UserGuiding cheaper than Appcues?
On published prices, yes. Appcues prints no price on its pricing page, and its Spark plan for small teams is $3,600 a year for up to 1,000 MAU plus a $250 setup fee. UserGuiding Starter is $2,088 a year for up to 2,000 MAU, so it costs less for twice the users.
Does UserGuiding charge overage?
No. When you exceed your MAU quota, UserGuiding stops showing your guides and other materials to users until you raise the quota or your MAU drops back under it. You are not billed extra, but your onboarding stops running for the users above the limit.
See UserInsight surface the why
UserInsight unifies your usage, feedback, tickets, reviews and surveys, then surfaces why users churn and what to build next, each traced to the evidence. Aggregate and consented, with no PII.